	Commonwealth of Virginia	
Thomas A. Lisk, Chair		General Assembly Building 201 N. 9th Street, Fourth Floor Richmond, Virginia 23219 (Phone) 804-698-1810 akubincanek@dls.virginia.gov http://codecommission.dls.virginia.gov/alac/alac.shtml
Andrew Kubincanek, Program Coordinator		
Administrative Law Advisory Committee		

Meeting Summary Administrative Law Advisory Committee May 28, 2025 – 12:00 PM

Subcommittee Room 300 – General Assembly Building

Members Present: Tom Lisk, Michelle Gowdy, Craig Maxey, Jeff Palmore, Mike Quinan, Noah Sullivan, Holly Trice, Jennifer Williamson Members Absent: John Daniel, Paul Kugelman, Brooks Smith, Kristi Wright Others Present: Andrew Kubincanek, Jill Ryan (Office of the Executive Secretary)

I. Welcome and call to order – Tom Lisk called the meeting to order at 12:05 PM.

II. Electronic Meeting Policy – Tom Lisk presented the electronic meeting policy, which mirrors the policy recently adopted by the Code Commission, to the members of ALAC. The policy was adopted unanimously by ALAC.

III. 2025 Work Plan – The committee formed work groups on the Hearing Officer Deskbook (Paul Kugelman, Craig Maxey, Kristi Wright) and Harmless Error Doctrine (Brooks Smith, Noah Sullivan, Jennifer Williamson).

Holly Trice presented four additional issues to the committee, including a grammatical issue in § 2.2-4012, the need for a definition of "adverse effects" in § 2.2-4007, and two areas where agencies are holding 30-day comment periods that may not be statutorily required, prior to the deletion of a guidance document and after the publication of a final adopted regulation.

In addition, Noah Sullivan suggested ALAC undertake a study of the preservation of error doctrine under the VAPA to determine whether statutory guidelines for its application should be considered by the General Assembly.

Finally, Jeff Palmore proposed that ALAC contact the Office of Regulatory Management for input on any changes they believe would be beneficial to the VAPA.

Thomas A. Lisk, Chair John Daniel Michelle Gowdy Paul Kugelman Craig Maxey Jeffrey S. Palmore Mike Quinan Brooks Smith Noah P. Sullivan Holly Trice Jennifer Williamson Kristi S. Wright The committee agreed to review these issues at a future meeting and discuss whether to add each individual item to the work plan.

IV. Public Comment/Adjourn – Hearing no public comment, the meeting was adjourned at 12:42 PM.

Thomas A. Lisk, Chair John Daniel Michelle Gowdy Paul Kugelman Craig Maxey Jeffrey S. Palmore Mike Quinan Brooks Smith Noah P. Sullivan Holly Trice Jennifer Williamson Kristi S. Wright